Northwest Association of College & University Housing Officers

NWACUHO New Professional Scholarships

The New Professional Scholarship is designed to make participation in the annual NWACUHO conference possible for new professionals within their first three years of full time experience who are interested in working in housing and residence life.

Erica Barton has graciously agreed to donate her speaker fee to the NWACUHO New Professional Scholarship fund.

What is the award:

Recipients of this scholarship will receive up to a total of 1,000 USD.  This can be used to offset the cost of conference registration, hotel expense, meals, and/or travel expenses.

How many scholarships are available:

There are two scholarships available, with preference given for one Canadian delegate and one American delegate.

How to be considered:

  • The new professional scholarship is awarded based on nominations. A nomination can be submitted by a colleague, supervisor, faculty member or other individual that is familiar with the nominees work.
  • Nominees must either be from a NWACUHO member institution or hold an individual (paying) membership.
  • Recipients will be expected to present (co-present) a program during the annual conference and submit an article to the Spring Soundings, the first publication after the conference, as a condition of accepting the scholarship. A program abstract will be due to the Programming Committee in accordance with program submission deadlines.

Applications will be reviewed through a blind selection process by the Awards and Scholarship Task Force.  Applications for this scholarship are due December 2, 2019 at 11:59pm Pacific.  Apply for this scholarship here.

Previous recipients include:

  • 2016: Janie Sacco, Saint Martin’s University
  • 2016: Mike Cheung
  • 2015: Courtney Northrup, University of Victoria
  • 2015: Sam Bardal, University of Victoria
  • 2013: Drew Satter, Oregon State University
  • 2012: Samantha Callister (University of Alaska Anchorage), Craig Whitton (University of Alberta)
  • 2011: Jenni Chadick
  • 2010: Kelly Ammendolia & Curran Craig
  • 2009: Darran Fernandez
  • 2008: Cait O’Brien & Carlie Weins
  • 2007: Natasha Lopeke & Jill Yashinksy
  • 2006: Liz Hillard & Angela McKinney
  • 2005: Brigid Brown & Corey Kopp
  • 2004: Kim Davis & Chris Washko
  • 2003: Kim Davidson & Matt Rygg
  • 2002: Amy Akana & Dave Akana
  • 2001: Kyle Jordan & Kyla McLeod
  • 2000: Leslie Barber Howard & Tammy Trick
  • 1999: Tina Veldkamp