Northwest Association of College & University Housing Officers

National Housing Training Institute Scholarship (NHTI)


Hosted annually, the National Housing Training Institute (NHTI), has accommodated over 600 attendees since the first summer, 1991. The original concept, which still holds true today, was to establish an intense professional development experience for younger professionals that were 3-5 years in the housing field and looking to continue their career in housing. NHTI provides each participant with the opportunity to meet and interact with other colleagues as well as develop a professional development plan. As the field of college and university housing evolves, the Institute seeks to provide housing professionals with the necessary skills and competencies to meet the current and future demands of the profession. Application information is available on the ACUHO-I site here.

What is the Award

NWACUHO has set aside three needs-based scholarships of up to $500.


Scholarships are available for up to three attendees who belong to NWACUHO Member institutions. NWACUHO requires that award winners submit an article for the Fall edition of Soundings Blog and encourages those that attended to share their experience with other new professionals at the subsequent annual conference.

How many scholarships are available

NWACUHO does not determine the acceptance to the program. Three awards are available for NWACUHO members who are accepted to NHTI.

How to be considered:

  • Apply for and be accepted to the National Housing and Training Institute.
  • ACUHO-I will refer names of accepted NWACUHO-member applicants seeking funding
  • NWACUHO will make determinations on award recipients and communicate that back to ACUHO-I directly
  • Recipients will be expected to present (co-present) a webinar and submit an article to The Soundings blog, the first publication after the conference, as a condition of accepting the scholarship.

Criteria used in judging:

Applications will be reviewed through a blind selection process by a sub group of the Board of Directors using the following criteria:

  • Initial NHTI application materials
  • Perceived potential of individual in housing profession

Past Recipients:

  • 2019: Karen Schlieder (Western Oregon University)
  • 2015: Richard Peralta (Willamette University) and Drew Satter (Gonzaga University)