Northwest Association of College & University Housing Officers


General Award Information

All award nominations were due December 3, 2018 at 11:59pm Pacific. Winners will be announced at the 2019 Annual Conference!

NWACUHO Awards recognize the work of members in our region in a multiple areas of experience and expertise. Nominations are collected and reviewed before annual conference. At the conference, The Best of the Northwest program award is selected by conference attendees, and the Annual Conference Case Study Competition winners are announced.

Specific information on each award and the criteria used for selection are listed below:

Recent Award Winners

Congratulations to our award winners in 2016! Nomination letters for each award winner can be found in the links below.

Ryan Hill NP AwardAimee Scrivens Ops AwardJohn Magnusson NP Award
New Professional, Alaska/Yukon: Ryan Hill, University of Alaska, Anchorage
New Professional, Alberta: Auburn Phillips, University of Lethbridge
New Professional, British Columbia: Lydia Braam, University of Victoria
New Professional, Oregon: Blair Osburn, Western Oregon University
New Professional, Washington: John Magnusson, Central Washington University
Operations Award: Aimee Scrivens, Oregon State University
Roger Frichette Excellence in Service Award: Clint Galloway, MacEwan University
David B. Stephen Award: Kelly Lundy, The Evergreen State College
Kay Rich Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Chytracek, University of Alberta, Augustana
Best of the Northwest: John Magnusson, Central Washington University
Best of the Northwest Runner Up: Rachel Rasmussen

Top 5 Program Winners:

Laying Down the Framework: Leading New Staff Teams to Success
Bob Lambert, Mount Royal University
Kristen Davick, Mount Royal University
Andrew Smith, SAIT Polytechnic

A first time for everything – New conversations for a new Residenial Community at COCC
Paul Wheeler, Central Oregon Community College
Kurt Haapla, Mahlum Architects

Developing Mentoring Programs in your Residence Hall Community
Heather Nicole Saladino – Saint Martin’s University
Janie Sacco – Saint Martin’s University

Financial Statement Analysis for New Professionals
Brian Sellen, Canadian Campus Communities

Generational Divide
Jenna Hyatt, Central Washington University

Case Study Competition Winners: 

Kristen Davick, Mount Royal University
Mike Cheung, University of British Columbia
Madison Biem, University of Alberta
Alicia C. O’Grady, University of Alaska, Anchorage
Nik Bowen, DigiPen Institute of Technology

Case Study Competition